top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaniel Rubin

Home recordings - do I have to be a soundman as well?

Updated: Jan 31, 2019

I don't pretend to be a pro at it, all I want is to share my experience,

and hope that it will be helpful to somebody.

First of all, if you have a soundman friend or someone who will make the mixing&mastering for relatively cheap, then I would say, go for it.

If you want to be totally independent, you must go down the rabbithole.

1. Gear

It doesn't matter if it's Pc or Mac, as long as it have a strong processor and at least 16 Gb RAM.

2. Which Audio Interface?

Today's external soundcards are USB connected and have multifunctional (mic/guitar) inputs. Steinberg, Focusrite or Roland, it's your choice. The similar models (2 inputs) are similar in price and performance. Just be sure, you make the right choice about the number of inputs.

3. Which and how many mics?

Which - depends on your budget. Rode condensor mics are a great solution if you are on a tight budget. And how many of them? You can make a decent recording with one

condensor, but for more three-dimensional sound (which is desirable) you should use minimum two. One large diaphragm condensor, plus one small diaphragm or a decent dynamic mic. With 2 mics you'll get 2 files, and your mixing&mastering possibilities are

4. Which DAW (Digital Audio Workstation)?

Any decent program, that will do the job. There is Audacity - a free app, and there are the more serious ones like Ableton, Cubase, Soundforge, Garageband, Fuity Loops, Audition and many more.

5. Technical knowlegde

- All your soundcard needs to operate is to install it's driver.

- Yes, the only connection is the USB, and all the information goes through it.

- If you use microphone, then turn on phantom power on your hardware

- Make sure, that in your audio settings your hardware is chosen

- Make sure in audio channel settings:

a. One microphone - Input 1-mic1, Input2-mic1

b. Two microphones - Input 1-mic1, Input 2-mic2

- Make sure, you choose the right buffer size and use settings which fit your hardware.

https://helpx.adobe.com/il_en/audition/using/connecting-audio-hardware.html#configure_audio_inputs_and_outputs

https://support.focusrite.com/hc/en-gb/articles/115004120965-Sample-Rate-Bit-Depth-Buffer-Size-Explained

- You can download and use free plugins for effects and mixing. Load them in your DAW's settings.

6. Mixing and mastering

I'm usually recording classical guitar with two mics, so I know which sound I want, and as soon as I found it, I will want to be immediately avaliable. So the best way is to find your mixing effects, put them together in a preset and save that preset. In my case I use:

- Dynamic processing (to get it out of the box, to bring it closer, make it more alive)

- 30 band EQ (reduce basses, optimize the mid-high ratio)

- Surround reverb (to get the sound more "wet", choose the right room size

7. Workflow

1. Record

2. Basic cuts

3. Load effects preset - check the sound, volume and clipping

4. Apply effects and export to mp3

5. Redo and export all the "dry" or original files to wave

6. Add date to your folder names




freepik.com, designed by osaba

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

אהבתינו

גורל‭ ‬חיבר‭ ‬בין‭ ‬קווי‭ ‬חיינו הביא‭ ‬אשר‭ ‬וסיפוק‭ ‬עלינו הענקת‭ ‬לי‭ ‬אינסוף‭ ‬אהבה נתתי‭ ‬לך‭ ‬חום‭ ‬וחיבה גרמת‭ ‬לי‭ ‬להרים‭ ‬את‭ ‬ראשי ולראות‭ ‬בצלילות‭ ‬מי‭ ‬אני להתמודד‭ ‬עם‭ ‬עובדות‭ ‬קשות ש

Tortured by love

I didn’t dare to want you You didn’t dare to want me We feared to feel and see There’s something we should do Can’t stop thinking about this, As I wait for the first kiss (Woman) I kept you in my mind

Phoenix

My skills are asleep The magic is hidden I’m buried so deep Heavy’s my burden Something went wrong And I felt the fall Still standing strong Awaiting Your call Vast losses came I wept so much It’s not

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page